Saturday, July 19, 2008

Updates!

1) I am in love with a car. A car I have never seen in person, in fact.

Yesterday afternoon, approximately 20 pictures of the 2010 production model Camaro RS were released to the public. Unfortunately, these pictures were mostly of sporty RED and YELLOW cars, both car colors I dislike. Red is just far too shouty (especially for a person with red hair), and as for yellow... Sigh. I once had a yellow GTO, and comedians came out of the wood-work to quip about my "cab" or my "big-bird-mobile". Each thought they were hilarious and original, naturally, and each I imagined punching in the throat.

Despite my negative amount of enthusiasm for those two colors, these pictures made me blush and giggle like a girl who had just seen Christian Bale without apparel (go see Dark Knight*. GO!)

The interior did not deviate much from the concept design, something fairly rare for the automotive industry. Most surprisingly, the interior gauges and general layout remained almost the same, considering these latest images are likely of the entry level model with common upgrades.



Production interior v.s. Prototype interior
click to enlarge images


Normally, prototypes are presented like these three Scions, fancy and attractive looking, but then the production models arrive looking like mini Corollas or U-Haul boxes spray painted silver and tied to a dolly.

I do have some serious problems with this car. Mainly, a pair of things that hang down between the wheels. Of course you know what I'm talking about... mufflers.

What happened, GM?! Did the team who hit a home run on the interior miss the meeting where this passed inspection? Not only are the mufflers massive, they also seem to have help calling attention to themselves with the cheap, black plastic secured around the lower 1/3 of the rear end. Some people complain also about the reverse lights, but whenever I see the back of the car, I only notice the black plastic and the mufflers. Egh.

2) I'm aiming to re-start college Fall '08!

This weekend, I will spend most of my time putting together applications for a couple online universities. I've sort of waited last minute to do this, so hopefully I'll get lucky and get in. I haven't decided exactly what I will major in. I had been hoping to get an Environmental Engineering degree online, but no such luck. I may aim lower and go for what I know I'll do well in; History, Sociology, or Anthropology. The one thing I'm fairly certain of, is that I will get financial aid this time around. The federal government finally has allowed me to be "independent" from my parents income (owning a house, working 60+ hours a week for 6 years, and supporting myself since I was 17 apparently doesn't count. If I had brought into the world children I couldn't care for or if I had gotten married, I would've been "independent". Ironic, no?)

Depending on how much I get, I'll either go straight to a real university that offers online degrees on the side, or I'll go to a community college. Since my EFC is 0, I'm guessing I won't end up with another "Suck to be you! <3 Republicans" letter.

3) The dreaded NCV is on Monday.

I am neither prepared nor excited. The doctors have put it off for six months, and now there is no backing out. I'm fairly certain they won't discover anything in the process, which makes the entire 'electrocution' portion of the event less appealing. I've asked Jacob to snap some pictures with his phone, since most of the images I have found relating to an NCV look like they are out of a crappy high school Biology book.



I'm not scared, perhaps "apprehensive" or "filled with dread" are better descriptions. Getting shocked in my hands when I can't tolerate holding a cool glass of water should be interesting. Shame I can't use any Irish pain killers (see: Jameson whiskey).

*HA HA I did the tricky fine print thing where I made you go watch Dark Knight to see Christian Bale change into his special Batman Birthday Suit, only for you to realize upon credit-roll that I lied! I should be in the next film, as a villain. I do a mean Harlequin impression.

Check out my twitter, my Photoshop pictars, oh, and of course my Justin.tv channel. In love with the 2010 Camaro? Join www.5thgen.org !

1 comments:

Anonymous said...

Norah, how did your NCV go? I've been there and it wasn't fun, but not as bad as I'd dreaded. Hope you managed through it ok.

Oh yeah, and that was my baseline -- I'm due for a follow up this year. Trying to put it off for as long as I can. ;)